Pawfinity vs GrooMore (2026): Metered Texts vs Bundled Texts
Quick Answer
Choose GrooMore if: You groom from one van or one salon and grooming is all you sell. It is cheaper for a solo van at every volume its plans cover — by $20 to $30 a month on Standard and $3 to $16 on Premium — and it bundles a loyalty program, gift cards, coupons and route optimization into its $49 plan.
Choose Pawfinity if: You board, run daycare or train alongside grooming, you run more than one van, or you want every employee on the system without watching a staff cap. One flat rate covers unlimited logins, and client replies never cost you a cent.
The Short Version
On paper these two look alike. Neither charges per groomer the way Time To Pet does. Neither charges per van the way MoeGo and Groomer.io do. Both include point of sale, retail products, QuickBooks sync, Review Booster and staff time tracking on their cheapest plan. So the usual deciders on this site — seats and vehicles — mostly drop out.
What is left is how each one sells text messages, and they do it in opposite ways. GrooMore bundles them. $49 buys 400 texts and $79 buys 800, and you move up a tier when you run out. Pawfinity meters them. $60 buys the software, and every text you send is billed on top, starting at 5 cents from the first one.
That one difference produces an unusual result: for a single van, there is no crossover. GrooMore is cheaper at every volume its plans cover, and in a salon it loses only in one narrow case created by its own staff cap. Pawfinity's case is mostly not price. It is scope — boarding, daycare and training in the same account — and scale, because its flat rate doesn't grow with your team or, as far as we can tell, your fleet.
At a Glance
Pawfinity
One flat rate per business, chosen by service menu: Groom & Train or Stay & Play at $60, Royal at $110 ($55 and $100 billed annually). Unlimited employee logins. Texts metered at 5¢ down to 3.5¢; client replies free. Boarding, daycare, POS with inventory, payroll, QuickBooks Connect.
Flat rate · Multi-serviceGrooMore
Grooming only, same price for mobile and salon. Standard includes 400 SMS (salon: up to 3 staff); Premium includes 800 SMS and unlimited salon staff. Loyalty, gift cards, coupons, Review Booster, QuickBooks sync, route optimization, App Store and Google Play apps.
Text bundles · Grooming onlySide-by-Side Comparison
| Feature | Pawfinity | GrooMore |
|---|---|---|
| Grooming price | $60/mo Groom & Train ($55 annual) | Standard $49 / Premium $79 |
| Grooming + boarding/daycare | ✓ Royal $110/mo ($100 annual) | ✗ Not offered |
| Texting included | Royal: up to 250 free credits; other plans: "complimentary credits," amount not stated | ✓ 400 SMS (Standard) or 800 (Premium) |
| Extra texts | 5¢ (under 500/mo), 4.5¢, 4¢, 3.5¢ (1,501+) | Overage rate not published |
| Client replies count? | ✓ No — "Inbound replies are free" | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Staff limit | ✓ Unlimited employee logins on every plan | Salon Standard: 3 staff; Premium: unlimited |
| Multiple vans or locations | No published surcharge — confirm with Pawfinity | Business Elite, custom quote |
| POS and retail inventory | ✓ POS with inventory, stored payments | ✓ Product & retail, inventory and suppliers |
| Time clock and payroll | ✓ Time clock and payroll | ✓ Timecards, payroll, commission management |
| QuickBooks and Review Booster | ✓ Both, every plan | ✓ Both, every plan |
| Loyalty, gift cards, coupons | Loyalty-card check-in for daycare; others not listed | ✓ All three, every plan |
| Mobile routing | ✓ Booking Genius™ mapping and route assist | ✓ Route optimization, nearby clients, ETA texts |
| Deposits and no-show fees | Not listed on the pricing page | ✓ Request deposit, charge for no-show |
| Apps | Installable web app for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac | ✓ App Store and Google Play apps |
| Free trial | ✓ 7 days, no card | Start free, no card; length not published |
| Setup fees | ✓ "No startup or hidden fees" | ✓ None; free data import |
| Best for | Multi-service facilities, fleets, large teams | Grooming-only vans and salons |
Read the table top to bottom and the pattern is clear. The feature rows are mostly ticks on both sides — this is closer to a like-for-like matchup than most on this site. The differences are in the first seven rows: how texts are sold, whether you board, and how each plan handles more people and more vehicles.
The Texting Math
Both price lists in full first.
Pawfinity charges one flat rate per business, and the plan you choose depends on what you sell, not how big you are. Groom & Train and Stay & Play are each $60 a month ($55 billed annually), and Royal — which covers grooming, boarding and daycare together — is $110 ($100 annually). Every plan includes unlimited employee profiles and logins, POS with inventory, time clock and payroll, QuickBooks Connect, Review Booster and two-way texting. Texting is billed on top by monthly volume: 5 cents per message under 500, 4.5 cents from 501 to 1,000, 4 cents from 1,001 to 1,500 and 3.5 cents above that. The pricing page is explicit that you "pay only for what you send" and that "inbound replies are free." Royal includes up to 250 free credits a month. The $60 plans also list "complimentary SMS credits" but don't say how many, so the math below assumes none.
GrooMore charges the same for mobile and salon. Standard is $49 a month for one van or one location, 400 SMS, and — in a salon — up to three staff. Premium is $79 for one van or location, 800 SMS and unlimited salon staff. Business Elite covers multiple vans or locations at a custom price. The feature list is identical on Standard and Premium; only the texts and the salon staff cap change. The pricing page gives no overage rate and doesn't say whether replies count toward the SMS total.
For the table we assume three texts sent plus one client reply per appointment — a reminder, a confirmation and a ready-for-pickup message, plus one answer back. Pawfinity doesn't bill the reply, so that is three billable messages per appointment on both platforms. We bill Pawfinity's whole month at the rate for that month's volume and use its $60 monthly price:
| Your setup | Pawfinity | GrooMore | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo mobile, ~60 appts | $69 ($60 + $9) | $49 (Standard) | GrooMore by ~$20 |
| Solo mobile, ~100 appts | $75 ($60 + $15) | $49 (Standard) | GrooMore by ~$26 |
| Solo mobile, ~130 appts | ~$80 ($60 + $19.50) | $49 (Standard, near cap) | GrooMore by ~$30 |
| Solo mobile, ~150 appts | ~$83 ($60 + $22.50) | $79 (Premium) | GrooMore by ~$4 |
| Solo mobile, ~200 appts | $87 ($60 + $27) | $79 (Premium) | GrooMore by ~$8 |
| Solo mobile, ~260 appts | ~$95 ($60 + $35.10) | $79 (Premium, near cap) | GrooMore by ~$16 |
| 1 salon, 3 groomers, ~120 appts | $78 ($60 + $18) | $49 (Standard) | GrooMore by ~$29 |
| 1 salon, 4 groomers, ~100 appts | $75 ($60 + $15) | $79 (Premium — Standard caps at 3 staff) | Pawfinity by ~$4 |
| 1 salon, 5 groomers, ~250 appts | ~$94 ($60 + $33.75) | $79 (Premium) | GrooMore by ~$15 |
| 2 vans, 2 groomers, ~260 appts | ~$95 if extra vans are free | Custom quote | GrooMore must quote under ~$48/van |
| 3 vans, 3 groomers, ~390 appts | ~$107 ($60 + $46.80) if extra vans are free | Custom quote | GrooMore must quote under ~$36/van |
Four findings come out of that table.
One: for a single van, GrooMore wins everywhere its plans reach. The gap is widest just under GrooMore's 400-text ceiling — about $30 a month at 130 appointments, because GrooMore's price stays flat while Pawfinity's meter keeps running. The $30 jump to Premium closes most of it, down to about $4 at 150 appointments. Then it opens again as Pawfinity's meter catches up with GrooMore's flat $79, reaching about $16 at 260 appointments. Past about 266 appointments a van uses up Premium's 800 texts, and GrooMore doesn't publish what happens next, so ask before you plan on that volume.
Two: in a salon, GrooMore's staff cap creates the one gap. Salon Standard stops at three staff, so a fourth groomer or a receptionist moves you to $79 whatever your volume. Pawfinity doesn't count logins, so a four-person team doing fewer than about 125 appointments a month — part-timers, or a shop still building its book — pays less on Pawfinity's $60 plus texts. Above that volume GrooMore's Premium is cheaper again. At the other end, a busy salon can run through Premium's 800 texts (about 266 appointments) with four or five full-time groomers, and GrooMore doesn't publish what extra texts cost.
Three: the unknowns mostly narrow the gap rather than reverse it. If GrooMore counts client replies — its pricing page doesn't say — Standard covers about 100 appointments instead of 133, and at 130 appointments both platforms cost about $79. Billing Pawfinity annually takes $5 off every row. Whatever "complimentary credits" the $60 plans include comes off Pawfinity's texting line too. Stack all three and a busy solo groomer might find the two roughly even. Outside the small salon pocket above, we could not find a single-site setup where Pawfinity is clearly cheaper on published prices.
Four: fleets are where Pawfinity's flat rate earns its keep — probably. Pawfinity's pricing page says extra logins are free, and its site says it can "organize multiple business locations" and route multiple vans. It never says in writing that a second van costs nothing, so treat the fleet rows as an inference to confirm on a sales call. If it holds, two vans on Pawfinity cost about $95 a month and three about $107, and GrooMore's quote-only Business Elite would have to come in under about $48 and $36 per van — below its own single-van Standard price — to compete. For how these line items add up across the market, see what grooming software really costs.
Two Different Kinds of Business
The price math covers grooming-only businesses. For anyone who also boards, runs daycare or trains, the decision is made before the math starts: GrooMore doesn't do any of those. Its pricing page, feature lists and homepage are about grooming from start to finish.
Pawfinity's plans are built around exactly that split. Groom & Train covers grooming and training. Stay & Play covers boarding and daycare, with feeding schedules, medication tracking, express check-in and daycare placement. Royal covers all of it for $110. The feature grid underneath is the same on all three: point of sale, inventory, payroll, QuickBooks Connect and Booking Genius™ routing. Pick a Pawfinity plan by what you sell, not by how big you are.
For a grooming-only business, the flip side matters. GrooMore packs more client-facing grooming tools into its $49 plan than Pawfinity lists: a loyalty program, gift cards, coupons, deposit requests, no-show charges, a waiting list for salons, and ETA and pickup-ready messages. Pawfinity's strengths lean toward the back office and multi-service operations. GrooMore's lean toward filling a groomer's calendar and keeping clients coming back.
One more difference worth knowing before you download anything: GrooMore's apps are in the Apple App Store and Google Play. Pawfinity's app installs from your web browser — Chrome, Safari or Firefox — on iOS, Android, Windows and Mac, rather than from an app store. It looks and works the same on every device, which some owners prefer, but it isn't a store-downloaded app.
Where Pawfinity Pulls Ahead
- Boarding, daycare and training: Feeding and medication tracking, check-in and daycare placement in the same account as grooming. GrooMore sells none of them.
- No staff cap, ever: Unlimited employee profiles and logins on every plan. GrooMore's salon Standard stops at three staff, so a fourth groomer or a receptionist moves you to $79 — which makes Pawfinity cheaper for a four-person salon doing fewer than about 125 appointments a month.
- Client replies are free: Stated plainly on the pricing page. With GrooMore you don't know until you ask.
- No tier jumps: A busy month adds a few cents per text, not a $30 plan change. The per-text rate also falls as volume rises.
- Likely cheaper for fleets: One flat rate with no published per-van charge, against a custom quote from GrooMore.
- A published trial: Seven days, no card, no startup or hidden fees.
Where GrooMore Pulls Ahead
- Cheaper for one van or most salons: By $20 to $30 a month on Standard and $3 to $16 on Premium at every solo-van volume we modeled.
- Texts included, not metered: A known monthly bill, with no running total to watch until you hit the tier ceiling.
- Client-retention tools: Loyalty program, gift cards, coupons, mass texting and rebook reminders on every plan.
- No-show protection: Deposit requests and no-show charges are listed on both tiers. For how much that matters, see how to reduce grooming no-shows.
- Payment choice: Square and Stripe, both listed on every plan.
- App-store apps and round-the-clock help: iOS and Android apps from the stores, 24/7 customer service and free data import.
The Question That Settles It
Answer two things before opening either pricing page: do you sell anything besides grooming, and how many vans or locations do you run?
If you board, run daycare or train, choose Pawfinity. GrooMore doesn't cover those services, and Pawfinity's Royal plan puts them in the same account as grooming for $110.
If you groom only, from one van or one salon, choose GrooMore. It is cheaper for a solo van at every volume its plans cover and for most salons, and its $49 plan includes more client-facing tools. The one exception is a salon with four or more staff but fewer than about 125 appointments a month, where GrooMore's staff cap forces the $79 plan and Pawfinity comes out a few dollars cheaper.
If you groom only but run two or more vans, get both quotes in writing. Ask Pawfinity to confirm that extra vans cost nothing, and ask GrooMore for a Business Elite price per van. If Pawfinity confirms, GrooMore would need to quote under about $48 per van for two vans, and under $36 for three.
Whichever way you go, export your client and pet data before you cancel anything. GrooMore advertises free data import, but photos and older appointment history are what tend to get lost in a move.
Which One Is Right for You?
Choose Pawfinity if you're...
- Offering boarding, daycare or training alongside grooming
- Running two or more vans or locations (once extra vans are confirmed free)
- Running a salon with four or more staff but a lighter book
- Texting clients who reply a lot, since replies are free
- Wanting a published, self-serve 7-day trial
Choose GrooMore if you're...
- A grooming-only business with one van or one salon
- Wanting texts included in a fixed monthly price
- Building repeat business with loyalty, gift cards and coupons
- Wanting deposits and no-show charges built in
- Preferring app-store apps and 24/7 support
Bottom Line
This is a grooming specialist that bundles its texts against a multi-service platform that meters them. For a grooming-only business with one van, and for most single salons, GrooMore is the cheaper and more client-focused buy, and the gap is largest — about $30 a month — for the typical solo groomer just under its 400-text ceiling.
Pawfinity wins when the business is bigger or broader than GrooMore's plans: boarding and daycare in one account, unlimited logins with no cap to trip over, free client replies, and a flat rate that — if Pawfinity confirms it in writing — does not grow with your fleet.
Before you commit, ask GrooMore whether client replies count toward its SMS total, and ask Pawfinity how many "complimentary credits" its $60 plans include. Those two answers move the numbers above by a few dollars. They won't change who wins for a single van.
Still comparing? See MoeGo vs Pawfinity, Pawfinity vs Groomer.io, Groomsoft vs Pawfinity and Pawfinity vs Time To Pet for Pawfinity against the rest of the field, or MoeGo vs GrooMore, Groomer.io vs GrooMore, Groomsoft vs GrooMore and GrooMore vs Time To Pet for GrooMore. Our best mobile grooming software roundup covers van-based operations specifically, and the best pet grooming software guide ranks the whole field.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Pawfinity or GrooMore cheaper?
For a grooming-only business with one van, and for most single salons, GrooMore. Its Standard plan is $49 a month with 400 texts included, while Pawfinity is $60 a month plus 5 cents for every text you send. A solo groomer doing about 100 appointments a month pays roughly $49 on GrooMore against $75 on Pawfinity. GrooMore stays cheaper after its $30 jump to the $79 Premium plan, by about $4 at 150 appointments and $16 at 260. The exception is a salon with four or more staff doing fewer than about 125 appointments a month, where GrooMore's three-staff cap on Standard forces the $79 plan and Pawfinity costs a few dollars less. Pawfinity is also likely cheaper for multi-van fleets, because it charges one flat rate per business while GrooMore quotes multi-van pricing on request.
Do client replies count against the texting allowance?
Not on Pawfinity. Its pricing page says inbound replies are free and that you pay only for what you send. GrooMore's pricing page lists 400 SMS on Standard and 800 on Premium but does not say whether replies count. Our math gives GrooMore the benefit of the doubt. If replies do count, Standard covers about 100 appointments a month instead of about 133, so ask GrooMore directly before choosing a tier.
Can GrooMore handle boarding or daycare?
No. GrooMore is grooming software only, for mobile vans and salons. If you board, run daycare or train dogs alongside grooming, Pawfinity covers all of it in one account: its Royal plan includes grooming, boarding and daycare for $110 a month, or $100 billed annually.
Which is better for a multi-van mobile grooming business?
Probably Pawfinity, but confirm it first. Pawfinity charges one flat rate per business with unlimited employee logins and publishes no per-van charge, so two vans doing about 260 appointments a month would cost about $95 including texting, and three vans about $107. Its pricing page does not state in writing that extra vans are free, so ask. GrooMore's multi-van Business Elite plan is priced by quote only, and it would need to come in under about $48 per van for two vans to compete.
Do Pawfinity and GrooMore have mobile apps?
Both work on phones, in different ways. GrooMore offers apps in the Apple App Store and Google Play. Pawfinity's app installs from your web browser, using Chrome, Safari or Firefox, and runs on iOS, Android, Windows and Mac without an app store download.
Do Pawfinity and GrooMore offer free trials?
Both let you start without a credit card. Pawfinity publishes a 7-day free trial and says there are no startup or hidden fees. GrooMore invites you to start free with no card needed but does not publish a trial length, and it advertises free data import. Some software directories still list Pawfinity at older prices with a longer trial, so check the vendor's own pricing page.